A spiritual community for all: advancing justice and embracing diversity with love and acceptance

Board of Trustees

Board Responsibilities: Our elected Board of Trustees is responsible for policy making and financial aspects of church life. To contact the Board, email: board@firstuu.org.

Meetings: The Board meets every 3rd Wednesday of the month. Meetings are open to members, but topics will be limited to those on the agenda.

Type of Governance: At this time in the life of the church, the First Church Board of Trustees is making a transition to Policy Governance, in which the Board creates End Statements or specific goals, and Executive Limitations or clear boundaries and expectations for church staff. These documents are available on the Church Governance page.

Board Membership: The Board has nine voting members, each serving a three year term. Each year, the congregation elects three new members at the Annual Meeting. If a member is not able to complete a term, the Board appoints a member to complete that term. The appointed member stands for election at the next Annual Meeting. The Treasurer, Clerk, Senior Minister and the immediate Past President of the Board are nonvoting members.

Board Officers: Board officers serve one year terms. The board elects a President, Vice President, Treasurer and Clerk.

Executive Committee: This subsection of the Board is made up of the Board President, the Vice President and the Senior Minister. Their role is agenda setting, problem solving and decision making as delegated by the Board.

2016-2017 Board of Trustees:
Jennifer Sorrells, President (2018)
Bob Miller, Vice Presidebt (2019)
Jan Elias (2019)
Leona Harrison (2020)
Betty Johnson (2020)
Frances Johnson (2019)
Carolyn Leap (2020)
Allan Perkins (2018)
Linda Richardson (2018)
Evan Michaelides, Treasurer
Micheal Morrison, Clerk and Past President

Copyright © 2009 - 2020 First Unitarian Universalist Church, Houston
Updated: August 22, 2017